The Eastern Police District traces its origin with the ratification of Presidential Decree No. 421 dated March 21, 1974, the integration of the city/municipal police forces, jails and fire departments within the greater Manila area known as the “METROPOLITAN POLICE FORCE”.

On April 1, 1974, pursuant to Headquarters Philippine Constabulary (HPC) General Orders Number 185 dated March 25, 1974, the East Sector Command, PC Metropolitan Command (METROCOM) was activated. The East Sector Command to what is known now as the Eastern Police District has operational jurisdiction over the five (5) Metro Manila municipalities of Marikina, Pasig, Pateros Taguig, Muntinlupa, and the whole province of Rizal.

Colonel Andres B. Ramos, Philippine Constabulary Provincial Commander of Rizal was designated as the first Superintendent of the East Sector Command in concurrent capacity. The former has initiated the immediate construction of the first District Headquarters opposite the Rizal PC Command Building at Hilltop, Tikling, Taytay, Rizal.

Pursuant to Section 1, Paragraph d of Presidential Decree No. 531, dated August 8, 1974, Rizal Province was separated from East Sector Command to be known as the Rizal Integrated Police Force while the municipalities of  Muntinlupa, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Marikina, Pasig, Pateros, and Taguig, remain with the East Sector Command.

On April 19, 1977, Lt. Colonel Armand Agbayani took over as Superintendent of the EPD. He was followed by Brig. Gen. Nicolas V. Sta. Ana who took over on August 10, 1977. Brig Gen Sta. Ana was instrumental in the construction of the former District Headquarters on a 1,032 sqm lot along Meralco Ave. extension donated by the Ortigas family.

After the historic EDSA Revolution in 1986, Muntinlupa, Pateros and Taguig were transferred to Southern Police District. In lieu of the re-sectoring of the areas in Metro Manila, Eastern Police District has taken jurisdiction over the areas of Pasig, Mandaluyong, Marikina and San Juan.